Facebook algorithm under fire in Sweden – found revealing anonymized sources

A couple of weeks ago I wrote about how an unintentional side effect of the Facebook recommend-algorithm, shows information that the publisher might not want attached to it’s posts.

My example was of a text about the downfall of streaming music service Grooveshark:

Grooveshark 2

The Next Web wrote about how disgruntled Grooveshark employees had backed up the shut down service, and put it back online. But The Next Web made a point of not revealing the new URL.  That didn’t really matter though, thank’s to Facebooks related links-box, people could find it attached to the post anyway.

Now a high profile murder case in Sweden has put the links-box under public fire. The background is a young woman, Lisa Holm, who suddenly disappeared in a small town, in an otherwise calm part of Sweden, only to be found murdered a couple of days later. Läs mer

When Facebook reveals things you don’t want to show

Several larger media companies, New York Times, National Geographic, Buzzfeed are all entering a business relationship with Facebook to post their content natively in the stream – as opposed to just linking back (Read more: Facebook ‘Instant Articles’ may bring full news stories to your feed this month)

It’s a way to push content to the readers where they choose to be, and making the effort to consume it as seamless as possible. But it doesn’t come without caveats, something CJR’s Trevor Timm has written a great piece about here, so I won’t repeat that.

However, this just happened in my Facebook feed. The Next Web reported on the shut down of music streaming service Grooveshark, and the fact that a couple of un-happy former employees has secretly backed up the entire site and now relaunched it on a new address.

This is how that showed up in my Facebook feed: Läs mer

Facebookappen ”Mina bilder” vill åt dina personliga uppgifter

Det har plötsligt börjat dyka upp en massa ompostningar av bilder i mitt Facebookflöden. Folk lägger upp samma bild flera gånger i veckan och den är (nästan) alltid väldigt gammal. Så här kan det se ut:

fulapp facebook 8

Åtta månader gammal bild

Den ser ut som vilken bildpostning som helst på Facebook, men när man klickar på bilden så hamnar man inte där man brukar: i avsändarens Facebookalbum, utan på en helt annan webbplats där appen ”Mina Bilder” vill att man ansluter och installerar: Läs mer

Det går visst att se säkerhetsnivå på FB-poster

Det visar sig att det visst går att se vilken säkerhetsnivå Facebookposter har (tvärtemot vad jag skrev i förra posten). Det är bara att hålla muspekaren över den lilla symbolen vid varje inlägg så visas rättigheterna (klicka för större bild):

I det här fallet är inlägget alltså helt publikt och därför kommer alla kommentarer också bli det.  Symbolerna ändrar sig också beroende på nivå. En jordglob betyder ”offentlig”, två små figurer betyder ”vänner”, ett kugghjul betyder att det delas efter en egendefinierad lista. På så sätt kan man rätt snabbt själv avgöra om man vill kommentera eller inte.

Tack Josefina för att du visade det här tricket.